solar panels & wind turbines

City of Hawthorne is now part of the
Clean Power Alliance of Southern California

In December of 2017, The Hawthorne City Council adopted an Ordinance allowing the City to join with other agencies to form the Clean Power Alliance of Southern California (formerly Los Angeles County Clean Energy).

The alliance is a coalition of cities that have joined together to purchase electricity in the wholesale power market, and sell it to their residents and businesses at competitive rates.

The City of Hawthorne needs your input regarding some important changes coming soon to your energy use. The City has teamed up with a number of other local cities and the County of Los Angeles to for the Clean Power Alliance which will change energy options at your home or business. Please complete this survey to provide your input and help shape the future of this program.

The City Council appointed Councilmember Angie Reyes-English as it representative on the Board of the Clean Power Alliance. Councilmember English is also Chair of the group’s Community Advisory Development committee.

City staff members serving as alternates include:

Clean Power Alliance service will roll out in three phases throughout 2018, beginning with Los Angeles County-owned municipal buildings today. Service will begin for commercial and industrial customers of Clean Power Alliance’s members in L.A. and Ventura County in June, 2018, with service to residential customers set to begin in December, 2018. Hawthorne customers will be provided an energy portfolio that utilizes 36% renewable energy.

The Clean Power Alliance is made up of geographically and socioeconomically diverse cities and unincorporated county areas across Southern California, including the counties of Los Angeles and Ventura, and the cities of Agoura Hills, Arcadia, Alhambra, Beverly Hills, Calabasas, Camarillo, Carson, Claremont, Culver City, Downey, Hawaiian Gardens, Hawthorne, Malibu, Manhattan Beach, Moorpark, Ojai, Paramount, Santa Monica, Sierra Madre, Simi Valley, Temple City, Thousand Oaks, West Hollywood, and Whittier.